Coogan Smith, LLP

Toggle site navigation
Call (508) 222-0002 to discuss your needs.

Frequently Asked Questions: Divorce & Family Law

How Long Does Alimony Continue?

There are four types of alimony under the Alimony Reform Act:  General Term Alimony, Rehabilitative Alimony, Reimbursement Alimony and Transitional Alimony.  General Term Alimony is for a duration based on the length of the marriage, provided that any General Term Alimony order will generally terminate, at the latest, upon the payor attaining the full Social Security retirement age.  Other term limits apply for the various forms of alimony, in addition to several deviation factors, there are other limits on the duration of alimony such as remarriage or death of the recipient, death of the payor, and cohabitation of the recipient spouse.

« Back to Divorce & Family Law FAQs